About us

Sri Krishna Vrundavana is Canada's first and only Sri Raghavendra Swami Temple under the guidance of His Holiness 1008 Sri Sri Sugunendra Theertha Swamiji of Jagadguru Sriman Madhvacharya Moola Maha Samsthanam, Udupi Sri Puthige Matha.

Acharya Madhva (1238-1317) was the founder Philosopher of Tattvavada, more popularly known as the Dvaita School of Vedanta. He is believed to be the third incarnation of Vayu who served Lord Rama as Hanumanta in his first incarnation and Lord Krishna as Bhima in his second incarnation. This belief is based on authentic and holy vedic references like the Baliththa Sukta, Vishnu sukta, and so on. Acharya Madhva’s doctrine is based on concepts enshrined in the authorless Vedas, Pancharatra, Puranas, Ramayana and Mahabharatha and is in tune with the decisive principles enunciated by Lord Vedavyasa in the Brahmasutras.

Acharya Madhva’s works include multiple commentaries on Brahmasutras, Geetha, Upanishads, RgVeda and Bhagavatha Mahapurana. He also composed hymns praising the glory of Lord Vishnu. His 37 works are collectively known as “Sarvamulagramthas”. He installed an icon of Lord Sri Krishna at Udupi, a coastal town in Karnataka, India One of the most valuable gems bequeathed by Acharya Madhva to humanity is the fold of disciples that he left behind to progagate his teachings. This consisted of eight monks to perform the worship of Lord Krishna in Udupi and other monks like Shri Padmanabha Teertha to propagate the philosophy outside South Kanara District. One of the original disciples of Acharya Madhva was Shri Upendra Teertha. He was very dear to Acharya Madhva and served him with a lot of devotion. When the Acharya and his disciples were on their second pilgrimage to Badri, they were attacked by a band of robbers. Under the Acharya’s inspiration and with his blessings, Shri Upendra Teertha fought with the robbers and single-handedly drove them away! Such was the power of the grace of Acharya on Sri Upendra Teertha. Acharya gave Shri Upendra Teertha an icon of Lord Panduranga Vittala. The eight disciples of AchArya Madhva originally stayed together in the Sri Krishna Matha, sharing the daily worship amongst themselves, with each disciple getting a period of two months. In 1532 Sri VAdiraja created the paryaaya system of rotation and changed the term to two years. Eight mathas known as "Udupi Ashta Matha's" were established in the vicinity of the Krishna MaTha. Each of the Mathas was given a period of 2 years to manage the Krishna Temple. The lineage following Sri Upendra Teertha is the one that we today know as Sri Puthige Matha and the main icon illuminating Sri Puthige Matha is the Lord Panduranga Vittala given by Acharya Madhva. Shri Upendra Teertha was succeeded by Shri Kavindra Teertha, followed by Shri Hamsendra Teertha and others. The early part of the twentieth century saw Shri Sudhindra Teertha. He lived over 100 years, and performed puja to Lord Krishna in 4 paryaayaas. He started several institutions and is revered even today. He was followed by Shri Sugnanendra teertha, and later by Shri Sugunendra teertha, the present pontiff. With the advent of Shri Sugunendra teertha, the 30th Pontiff, began the golden age of the Puthige Matha.

Sri Upendra Vittala

The vigraha of Panduranga Vittala with Rukmini and Satyabhama gifted to the first pontiff, Shri Upendra Tirtha by Acharya Madhva is worshipped here. Vittala is holding a conch in one hand and pointing his feet with the other hand, both hands are at hip level. Shri Vadiraja Swamiji interpreted this as, those who wear this sign of conch and chakra and prostrate before the Lord's feet can easily cross the ocean of bhava since the depth of the ocean will get reduced to his hip level by the grace of the Lord. Since two other mathas also have the vigraha of Vittala, the vigraha of this matha is known as Upendra Vittala to distinguish this from the other vigrahas.

Srikara- Lord of Wealth

Eight hands holding Surya, chandra, shanku chakra and tressure and holding Shri Lakshmi's hand. Pouring gold by sitting on Garuda's back. After stealing Parijatha, Shri Krishna and Sathyabhama are flying on Garuda pouring gold throughout the way.


Lord Vishnu has taken the Varaha Avatara (Boar Form) to protect Mother Earth to kill Hiranyaksha. Kaliyamardana Krishna Shri Krishna's dancing pose on the big and venemous serpant Kaliya to tame the arrogant snake which was causing problems to the cowherds and the cattle in Gokula. Lakshminarayana on Garuda Vahana Normally, Vishnu is having Ashtabhuja, where as here, Garuda is having Ashtabhuja. Scriptures desribe this as, one will get the form he mediates. Here, Garuda gets this form because of his meditation.

Vedavyasa - Lord of Knowledge

He is wearing jata. In one hand, Gnana Mudra and Abhaya Mudra on the other. In Bhagavad Gita, Shri Krishna says, abhaya is the first quality for a sadhaka and gnana is the supreme one for salvation. Dhanvanthri with Amrutha Kalasha and Gnana Mudra After samudra mathana, Shri Vishnu took the form of Dhanvantri to distribute amritha between the Devas and Asuras. Then, suddenly he took the form of Mohini and deceived the asuras and distributed the nectar among the Devas. This god is known as the god of health. Hayagriva Saligrama One will acquire oratory skills by worshipping this saligrama. Matsya Saligrama This is in the shape of fish and one will get wealth by worshipping this. Udupi Shri Krishna Vigraha Holding churning rod and rope. The significance of this posture is, the Lord is giving the mesage to his devotees, that one will get the moksha by being devoted to the Lord just like getting butter out of churning the curds. Parampara: There have been 29 Pitadhipathi's in the parampara of Puthige Matha.

They are as follows: 

  1. Shri Upendra Tirtha 
  2. Shri Kavindra Tirtha 
  3. Shri Hamsendra Tirtha 
  4. Shri Yadavendra Tirtha 
  5. Shri Dharanidhara Tirtha 
  6. Shri Damodara Tirtha 
  7. Shri Raghunatha Tirtha 
  8. Shri Srivatsanka Tirtha 
  9. Shri Gopinatha Tirtha 
  10. Shri Ranganatha Tirtha 
  11. Shri Lokanatha Tirtha 
  12. Shri Ramanatha Tirtha 
  13. Shri Srivallabha Tirtha 
  14. Shri Srinivasa Tirtha 
  15. Shri Srinidhi Tirtha 
  16. Shri Gunanidhi Tirtha 
  17. Shri Taponidhi Tirtha 
  18. Shri Yadavendra Tirtha 
  19. Shri Kavindra Tirtha 
  20. Shri Raghavendra Tirtha 
  21. Shri Vibudhendra Tirtha 
  22. Shri Surendra Tirtha 
  23. Shri Bhuvanendra Tirtha 
  24. Shri Yogindra Tirtha 
  25. Shri Sumatindra Tirtha 
  26. Shri Sudhindra Tirtha 
  27. Shri Sujnanendra Tirtha 
  28. Shri Sugunendra Tirtha (Present Pitadhipathi)